AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Fansub Groups

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2009-05-21, 09:42   Link #161
Starks
I see what you did there!
*Scanlator
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Age: 27
Send a message via AIM to Starks
Seiji, are any errors popping up in your Xorg.0.log? Is KWin enabled?

(Today Dark Shikari took a subtle jab at me. I am not happy.)
__________________
Starks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-21, 18:41   Link #162
SeijiSensei
AS Oji-kun
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mucking about
Age: 64
I tried Miles's config file, and things worked fine, even in KDE The card itself has 512 MB of VRAM so the out-of-memory errors seemed implausbile even with KDE's compositing engine. (It's pretty amazing what $70 buys these days!)

I'm not sure exactly what was wrong. I had more codecs in my -vc chain than he did, as described here. These are the VC-1 codecs which are mentioned as being supported in the 9300 series of nVidia cards. I guess I erroneously presumed they'd be supported in the 9500 series as well. While my logs showed that mplayer appeared to choose the ffh264vdpau codec, I wonder if the extraneous ones somehow messed things up.

I also do seem to get ASS subtitles, which must mean the information in this thread is out-of-date. I haven't added the screenshot filter to the chain yet; I'm going to try that later tonight.

I tried the mplayer-nt build using git as described on the mplayer homepage. The binary failed to execute properly. The processor is a Pentium-D which, though a dual-core, might not support the multithreaded binary. I returned to the binary I compiled from SVN yesterday and, with Miles's config, played the Eden episode successfully.
__________________
SeijiSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-21, 23:11   Link #163
Emess
Slower Than You
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Western Australia
Send a message via AIM to Emess Send a message via MSN to Emess Send a message via Yahoo to Emess Send a message via Skype™ to Emess
Seiji, in general, the mplayer-uau git repository is much better to use. I didn't notice what distro you're using though, but I can give you a one liner for grabbing and compiling it. It's a good practice to disable compositing while watching video, ctrl+alt+F12 I think it the shortcut in KDE, I don't use compositing so I'm not too sure. It seems your codecs.conf file interfered, and you had to manually override it with a local conf. I am guessing you just opened the file and assumed it would play properly, what likely happened is that it rendered with VDPAU but didn't decode with it, and that occasionally has errors.

Today, I had to say something that is written on the KDE, mplayer, and nvidia sites, and starks failed to see why he was trolled. I am not happy.

E~
Emess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 00:26   Link #164
npcomplete
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Edit: Today I had to repost a formula that is posted in about 5000 places on the internets.

I am not happy.
I wasted a bunch of time again trying to find one of these 5000 unicorns.
I am not happy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
(RoundUp(Width/16)*16 * RoundUp(Height/16)* 16 * 1.5) * (Refframes + (Bframes > 0) )
But for this, I am happy

question: in Width and Height do you mean pixels * 3?
npcomplete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 00:52   Link #165
Dark Shikari
x264 Developer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by npcomplete View Post
question: in Width and Height do you mean pixels * 3?
... I mean the width. Of the freaking frame. In pixels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by npcomplete View Post
I wasted a bunch of time again trying to find one of these 5000 unicorns.
I have yet again found someone who is incapable of searching the Doom9 forums.

I am not happy.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 03:04   Link #166
npcomplete
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
... I mean the width. Of the freaking frame. In pixels.
so the formula yields units in bytes? In terms of the maximum amount of video memory used? I ask because I want to make sense of the results e.g.
(1920 * 1088 * 1.5) * (4 + 1) = 16156800
.. 16,156,800 of ?

Edit: I ask because my thinking is:
"if this is in bytes: ~16MB ? really? If so, at 16 ref, it only takes ~52MB of RAM. Then why are there any issues at all with video ram size?"
npcomplete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 03:54   Link #167
zhurai-tsuki
...
*Fansubber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
since I'm not sure if I should make a new topic about this...

how do you guys encode within linux?

I don't care if it's cli/gui, as long as it's something usable with what I have:

(my system:
ubuntu 9.04
ffmpeg - from svn -> 04/26/09 (might update this to latest svn soon)
x264 - git? -> 04/26/09 (")
mplayer - svn - 4/27/09 (")
smplayer - svn r2987 (")
)

though I don't think the version matters, just putting that for the heck o/




(if this is not the place to put this, can a moderator split this into it's own thread?, thanks)
zhurai-tsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 04:37   Link #168
Emess
Slower Than You
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Western Australia
Send a message via AIM to Emess Send a message via MSN to Emess Send a message via Yahoo to Emess Send a message via Skype™ to Emess
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhurai-tsuki View Post
how do you guys encode within linux?
I grab my raw, throw it into DGIndex in WINE, throw that into YMC in WINE, throw that into YATTA in WINE, edit my avs file in vim/nano, test it with vdub in WINE, encode lossless FFV1 in mencoder via avs2yuv, encode that to h264 with x264, mux with mkvmerge.

E~
Emess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 08:30   Link #169
Dark Shikari
x264 Developer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by npcomplete View Post
so the formula yields units in bytes? In terms of the maximum amount of video memory used? I ask because I want to make sense of the results e.g.
(1920 * 1088 * 1.5) * (4 + 1) = 16156800
.. 16,156,800 of ?

Edit: I ask because my thinking is:
"if this is in bytes: ~16MB ? really? If so, at 16 ref, it only takes ~52MB of RAM. Then why are there any issues at all with video ram size?"
Yes. It's in bytes.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 09:03   Link #170
emptyeighty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by npcomplete View Post

Edit: I ask because my thinking is:
"if this is in bytes: ~16MB ? really? If so, at 16 ref, it only takes ~52MB of RAM. Then why are there any issues at all with video ram size?"
Where did you come across any such issues? Afaik the only things having problems with this are embedded devices, e.g. Popcorn Hour et al.
__________________
You can't just throw the law out the window...
emptyeighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-22, 10:09   Link #171
Miles Teg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Le Mans, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by emptyeighty View Post
Where did you come across any such issues? Afaik the only things having problems with this are embedded devices, e.g. Popcorn Hour et al.
With nVidia video card using VDPAU , with the first patch a 256MB video card wasn't able to decode a 720p level 4.1 video because of a lack of RAM, the situation is better right now but you will have problem with 1080p video if you don't have 512MB of VRAM.
Miles Teg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-30, 22:15   Link #172
Mr VacBob
yotsuba channel
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: GA
Age: 26
Send a message via AIM to Mr VacBob
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhurai-tsuki View Post
since I'm not sure if I should make a new topic about this...

how do you guys encode within linux?
You can get a reasonably good encode from within mencoder. It takes some work to get around the completely broken A/V sync code (something like -ofps 120000:1001 -oac pcm and then never using harddup) but you can IVTC with pullup and such. I can't remember if any output formats other than avi really work, but mkvmerge will fix that up, and while the filtering isn't as complex I can only consider not using warpsharp a good thing.
Mr VacBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-07-15, 23:46   Link #173
Starks
I see what you did there!
*Scanlator
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Age: 27
Send a message via AIM to Starks
Vector clipping and draw mode code for libass just landed.

http://img115.imageshack.us/img115/1479/shot0006.png
http://greg.geekmind.org/mplayer/clip1.png
http://greg.geekmind.org/mplayer/clip2.png

Greg does amazing work.
__________________
Starks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 16:28   Link #174
sl1pkn07
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
please, if up the changes in official mainline mplayer repository...

make me very happy
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-03, 20:19   Link #175
Starks
I see what you did there!
*Scanlator
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Age: 27
Send a message via AIM to Starks
Not yet, but here are the directions.

To get everything to work with MPlayer, follow these steps:

* Get build dependencies: sudo apt-get build-dep libass3 && sudo apt-get build-dep mplayer

* Get libass build and install it: git clone git://greg.geekmind.org/libass.git && cd libass && ./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install

* Get patched MPlayer, build and install it: git clone git://greg.geekmind.org/mplayer.git && cd mplayer && git checkout libass && ./configure --prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install
__________________

Last edited by Starks; 2009-08-03 at 20:45.
Starks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-06, 10:57   Link #176
tabata
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starks View Post
Not yet, but here are the directions.

To get everything to work with MPlayer, follow these steps:

* Get build dependencies: sudo apt-get build-dep libass3 && sudo apt-get build-dep mplayer

* Get libass build and install it: git clone git://greg.geekmind.org/libass.git && cd libass && ./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install

* Get patched MPlayer, build and install it: git clone git://greg.geekmind.org/mplayer.git && cd mplayer && git checkout libass && ./configure --prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install
libass built fine however mplayer fails to finish the configure:

I Get:

Quote:
....
./configure --prefix=/usr
sed: can't read ffmpeg/libavcodec/allcodecs.c: No such file or directory
sed: can't read ffmpeg/libavcodec/allcodecs.c: No such file or directory
sed: can't read ffmpeg/libavcodec/allcodecs.c: No such file or directory
sed: can't read ffmpeg/libavcodec/allcodecs.c: No such file or directory
sed: can't read ffmpeg/libavformat/allformats.c: No such file or directory
sed: can't read ffmpeg/libavformat/allformats.c: No such file or directory
sed: can't read ffmpeg/libavformat/allformats.c: No such file or directory
....
....
Checking for FFmpeg libavutil ...
Error: MPlayer will not compile without libavutil in the source tree.

Check "configure.log" if you do not understand why it failed.
If I try with --disable-libavutil_a it finishes configure but fails to compile.
Any ideas?
tabata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-06, 11:16   Link #177
TGEN
Far out, man!
*Fansubber
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Age: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhurai-tsuki View Post
how do you guys encode within linux?
On Linux? Not, but on NetBSD I use AviDemux2 and HandBrake to transcode. They're GUI tools, and AviDemux2 comes with a couple of decent filters, so most of the time you don't need Winders and AviSynth anymore.
TGEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-06, 17:41   Link #178
greg-
libass developer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Sorry, the instructions are incorrect! I forgot to mention that you need to clone ffmpeg as well.
Now we have a MPlayer build repository that simplifies everything a lot. See http://repo.or.cz/w/mplayer-build.git
greg- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-07, 20:15   Link #179
Starks
I see what you did there!
*Scanlator
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Age: 27
Send a message via AIM to Starks
tabata, try this in your mplayer source folder:

git submodule init
git submodule update
__________________
Starks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-08-10, 20:18   Link #180
zhurai-tsuki
...
*Fansubber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: California
when are the changes going to be put into the main (branch?/mainline?) of the mplayer?
zhurai-tsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.