AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > Forum & Site Feedback

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2009-04-30, 23:17   Link #1
Marion
The Great Dine
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Copy-Pasting Posting Problems

I'm encountering a problem. Whenever I write big posts and copy paste them in when I try to reply with the post it tells me that the post is too short, when it's pretty damn long in reality. It's starting to get annoying

I try to write up something to fit the minimum and when I preview that short post it says it's fine. Then I paste the giant post and preview again - it tells me the message is too short once more.

Is it possible to solve this problem or get around it somehow?
__________________

Sig by nocco
Marion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-01, 00:15   Link #2
Daniel E.
AniMexican!
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Monterrey N.L. Mexico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marion View Post

Is it possible to solve this problem or get around it somehow?
Are you tring to put everything inside the quote tags?

I just tried to post your quoted comment and got the same message. It wasn't until I wrote this (outside the tags) that the message went through.
__________________
Daniel E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-01, 01:54   Link #3
GHDpro
Administrator
*AnimeSuki Site Staff
*Moderator
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Netherlands
Age: 35
There is a minimum post length (something like 10 characters or so) and anything in quote sections isn't counted. So if a post only contains a quote box, it'll be treated as an empty post.
GHDpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-01, 08:04   Link #4
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghdpro View Post
there is a minimum post length (something like 10 characters or so) and anything in quote sections isn't counted. So if a post only contains a quote box, it'll be treated as an empty post.
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Quote:
Originally Posted by cats
posts can be padded to meet the requirement. Honestly 10 characters limit is pretty pointless. There are many cases where just giving a straight answer (is it really blah blah... ) "yes" (what was that series called...) "cabage" makes perfect sense. No need to spin around the bush.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-01, 09:28   Link #5
Hs Vi Germania
Please call me "senpai":)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 23
Send a message via ICQ to Hs Vi Germania
10 c.
__________________
Hs Vi Germania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-01, 20:34   Link #6
Marion
The Great Dine
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I'm not trying to put everything in quotes. I tried making a short message more than 10 characters and then pasted in my stuff but even then it wouldn't work Is there a posting limit that's restricting me perhaps, because not everything is in quotes or spoilers, so I think it might be too big.
__________________

Sig by nocco
Marion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-02, 01:58   Link #7
xris
Just call me Ojisan
*AnimeSuki Site Staff
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.K. Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marion View Post
I'm not trying to put everything in quotes. I tried making a short message more than 10 characters and then pasted in my stuff but even then it wouldn't work Is there a posting limit that's restricting me perhaps, because not everything is in quotes or spoilers, so I think it might be too big.
You have the same posting permissions as the other 68.096 members of your Usergroup, there is nothing specific to your account.

I can only assume it is finger trouble and you are doing something wrong without realising. Please take a screenshot of the problem, take a screen before you hit the "Submit Reply" button and other after (to show the message). Post the images here and we can try and spot what you are doing wrong.
xris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-02, 09:48   Link #8
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Small One View Post
Maybe the Javascript, that's responsible for checking the limit is counting keystrokes instead of actual characters. So if you paste some text it only counts one keystroke.
I'm afraid vB were not so stupid as to use javascript for this.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-02, 15:48   Link #9
Hs Vi Germania
Please call me "senpai":)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 23
Send a message via ICQ to Hs Vi Germania
Why do you not easily post screenshots how xris suggested you before?
Talking theoretically won't bring us any further.
__________________
Hs Vi Germania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-02, 18:03   Link #10
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Small One View Post
This has nothing to do with beeing stupid.

Its very logical to check user-made entries first on the user's side. (It would indeed be stupid to let the server do all the checking).
And there is a "message to short" javascript-popup. Only if javascript is deactivated, the message comes from the server.
Oups. (has javascript disabled)
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-03, 12:44   Link #11
Marion
The Great Dine
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I should mention, I'm trying to post a new thread rather than a post to an existing thread. I'm not sure how that affects the problem, if it even does. Anyways here it is:

Spoiler for My post (at least the first part of it):


And when I try to post that I get this:

Spoiler for The error:


:U So ya I don't know. Is there really no type of limit to how much one can put in a single post, because this IS a big post as you can see.
__________________

Sig by nocco
Marion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-03, 13:09   Link #12
xris
Just call me Ojisan
*AnimeSuki Site Staff
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: U.K. Hampshire
There appears to be a bug, I suspect in vB but I can't confirm this at the moment.

If you attempt to create a post with a huge ammount of text, instead of telling you that you exceeded the 50,000 Maximum Characters Per Post limit, it gives you the dumb "too short" message.

I remember this issue from the past but can't remember if there was a fix.

Anyway, the specific problem you have is that your message exceeds the 50,000 character post limit. You will need to split your post in to several chunks (and make consectutive posts in the thread).

BTW, I can duplicate the same situation and I get the same (incorrect) error message.
xris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-03, 13:22   Link #13
KholdStare
ISML Technical Staff
*Graphic Designer
*AnimeSuki Site Staff
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 25
Send a message via AIM to KholdStare Send a message via MSN to KholdStare
I never put quotes in [url=]. Does that matter?
KholdStare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-03, 15:37   Link #14
Hs Vi Germania
Please call me "senpai":)
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 23
Send a message via ICQ to Hs Vi Germania
Quote:
Originally Posted by KholdStare View Post
I never put quotes in [url=]. Does that matter?
Eh, as far as I know, NOPE.

URL is just for linking, why should you use it in quotes?
__________________
Hs Vi Germania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-05-08, 17:36   Link #15
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Khold is not referring to the [quote] tag. Quotes (", ' etc) in urls or otherwise are optional.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
We use Silk.