AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Playback Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2009-11-17, 12:47   Link #1
DragoZERO
Spoilaphobic
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Age: 28
Darker than Black 2 - BSS Release

Is anyone having trouble with their releases. I am able to play it but it takes a while for it to load. I ask because I use my PS3 to watch and if it takes too long to load on my computer, it won't play.

Is there a setting or something I can tweak to fix this? Or is it just BSS' encoding method or something.

I use CCCP 9-08 and CoreAVC. My computer is fast enough to play it, so I know its not hardware.
DragoZERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-17, 14:01   Link #2
emptyeighty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Upgrade to the latest CCCP (2009-09-09) and make sure reset settings is checked during install. Don't uncheck H.264 so that ffdshow will be used for decoding. Does that help? If not, test with multithreaded ffshow by checking "MT" in CCCP settings, 1st page.
__________________
You can't just throw the law out the window...
emptyeighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-17, 15:39   Link #3
DragoZERO
Spoilaphobic
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Age: 28
I really like CoreAVC with CUDA, it works great with the streaming too. I always had trouble and I would just keep trying on the PS3 until it would work, hit or miss, but now it won't work no matter what.

I'll try that out but I'm not going to reset all of my settings, they are all changed to work with the PS3 streaming, it took a while to get it to work as well as it does now, so yeah, don't want to rock the boat, lol.
DragoZERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 07:06   Link #4
emptyeighty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I missed the part about PS3 there. Your whole DShow stuff shouldn't even matter then since the PS3 will do all the decoding, or am i missing something here?
__________________
You can't just throw the law out the window...
emptyeighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 08:15   Link #5
DragoZERO
Spoilaphobic
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Age: 28
The PS3 Media Server transcodes the file and streams it to the PS3. The PS3 can't decode from an mkv.
DragoZERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 20:05   Link #6
synaesthetic
blinded by blood
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to synaesthetic Send a message via Skype™ to synaesthetic
The current version of CoreAVC (1.9.5) cannot do hardware decoding of h.264 with more than 15 reference frames. This will cause problems, because BSS's encodes of Darker than Black II are L5.1 profile with 16 reference frames.

The solution is to re-encode the video into a lesser number of reference frames, use DXVA to hardware decode the video (with Vista/Win7, should be able to decode even 16 ref frames), or use software decoding.
__________________
synaesthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 20:23   Link #7
DragoZERO
Spoilaphobic
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Age: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by synaesthetic View Post
The current version of CoreAVC (1.9.5) cannot do hardware decoding of h.264 with more than 15 reference frames. This will cause problems, because BSS's encodes of Darker than Black II are L5.1 profile with 16 reference frames.

The solution is to re-encode the video into a lesser number of reference frames, use DXVA to hardware decode the video (with Vista/Win7, should be able to decode even 16 ref frames), or use software decoding.
There's the answer! Thanks a lot.

Why does BSS encode like that anyway?
DragoZERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 20:58   Link #8
synaesthetic
blinded by blood
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to synaesthetic Send a message via Skype™ to synaesthetic
More reference frames usually equals faster encoding.
__________________
synaesthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 21:35   Link #9
DragoZERO
Spoilaphobic
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Age: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by synaesthetic View Post
More reference frames usually equals faster encoding.
Ah, I see now. Okay, thanks.
DragoZERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 22:09   Link #10
Dark Shikari
x264 Developer
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by synaesthetic View Post
More reference frames usually equals faster encoding.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-18, 22:39   Link #11
martino
makes no files now
 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by synaesthetic View Post
More reference frames usually equals faster encoding.
Slower encoding, with higher quality.
__________________
"Light and shadow don't battle each other, because they're two sides of the same coin"
martino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-19, 14:48   Link #12
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: ISDB-T
Age: 28
just fyi it's to troll users of hardware decoders
__________________
| ffmpegsource
17:43:13 <~deculture> Also, TheFluff, you are so fucking slowpoke.jpg that people think we dropped the DVD's.
17:43:16 <~deculture> nice job, fag!

01:04:41 < Plorkyeran> it was annoying to typeset so it should be annoying to read
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2009-11-19, 16:22   Link #13
synaesthetic
blinded by blood
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to synaesthetic Send a message via Skype™ to synaesthetic
Hey, that was just the answer given to me when I asked the question as to why some encodes don't work with CoreAVC using CUDA. ^^;

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFluff View Post
just fyi it's to troll users of hardware decoders
this is the best answer
__________________
synaesthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-01-01, 08:37   Link #14
carmolita
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
I downloaded episode 2 V2 but it came w/ a patch, (I'm hoping it's a patch to fix the timing) but does anyone know how to use the patch? i've never patched a file before and I really want to watch this episode
carmolita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-01-02, 11:11   Link #15
TCman
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by carmolita View Post
I downloaded episode 2 V2 but it came w/ a patch, (I'm hoping it's a patch to fix the timing) but does anyone know how to use the patch? i've never patched a file before and I really want to watch this episode
The method how to patch the series is in the readme that's included in the patch "[BSS]_Darker_Than_Black_[TV][V2][Patch].rar".

Well in short: Extract the patch and copy the episodes in the same directory as the patch and xdelta files and then double click "patch.bat" and the episodes will be automatically patched into version 2 episodes of DthB 2; it will take some time before the patch process is finished.



Hope this can help you a bit,

Happy new Year!
TCman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.