AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Playback Help

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2010-05-14, 22:36   Link #1
synaesthetic
blinded by blood
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to synaesthetic Send a message via Skype™ to synaesthetic
FFDShow Upsampling/Preset Autoload question

Okay, so I have several videos on my laptop that are 480p. These videos do not look so good on my laptop's screen.

I want to upsample them to make them look better. I have seen many articles detailing how to upsample DVD playback to look nicer on HD displays, but I have not found any articles on how to do this for H264 encodes.

I also do not want ffdshow trying to upsample 720p and 1080p videos. I just want it to upsample the 480p ones. So I want to take advantage of the Preset Autoload function. I have figured out how to make it change depending on the file type (I can make it do different things for .avi and .mkv, for instance), but I don't know how to make it change for the same file type but different resolution.

How do I do this? My computer is a laptop with a Core i5-430M 2.26GHz processor and ATI Mobility Radeon 5650 GPU. So I should be able to handle adding additional filters. I see around 15-25% CPU utilization when playing 720p BD rips and using VSFilter, so it ought to be fine.
__________________
synaesthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-05-16, 07:15   Link #2
gugumomu
the hedgehog
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
you dont necessary need to change it depending on the file type, just check under "Resize&aspect" in ffdshows options page "Resize if ..." and set "x<641" and "y<481".
probably best resize method is "Spline" (under Resize&aspect-->Settings-->Luma method)
__________________
gugumomu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-05-16, 12:05   Link #3
synaesthetic
blinded by blood
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to synaesthetic Send a message via Skype™ to synaesthetic
Thanks for that info.
__________________
synaesthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-06-27, 05:36   Link #4
namaiki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Try use MadVR and then you can let the video renderer do the upscaling and not regret it.
namaiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.