AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > AnimeSuki & Technology > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2011-04-18, 04:36   Link #241
blaze0041
a.k.a. Flammenkrieg
*IT Support
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Down under...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiberium Wolf View Post
1st time today that FF4 crashed. It took then more or less 5 min to load. I did set the cache to 1 GB and it must have been the reason. I checked the cache and it wasn't gone like the previous versions but it was at like 50k files and 3k folders o.O
I don't think I've even seen anyone need more than 50MB in their cache!
For best performance, override the cache size to 0MB (unless you have a solid state drive). If you need it, set your cache to no more than 100MB.
__________________
Neptune (Hyperdimension Neptunia)

"The world is full of obvious things which
nobody by any chance ever observes."
-
Sherlock Holmes


"Make sure you do a good job with your life's
footprint."
- Kanna Makino
blaze0041 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-04-18, 08:17   Link #242
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaze0041 View Post
I don't think I've even seen anyone need more than 50MB in their cache!
For best performance, override the cache size to 0MB (unless you have a solid state drive). If you need it, set your cache to no more than 100MB.
I have traffic shaping so I need a lot of cache.

Edit: Funny cache gone. Dunno why.
__________________

Last edited by Tiberium Wolf; 2011-04-18 at 11:47.
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-01, 03:53   Link #243
sa547
Senior Member
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 37
Upgraded to Firefox 4.01 from 3.x. Lot less sluggish than once used to be, and much to my delight, the PC doesn't shut down when the browser encounters and plays Flash video. Still happens on occasion; though I suppose I'll have to clean up the PC's innards -- probably heat issues with the hardware, especially the graphics card.

Note: been with it since 0.98 after IE5.5 got punctured by malware. Tried the others but I kept coming back to it... and I'd like to do things down and dirty.

Note #2: Chrome's a bit disorienting to use, even if I'm hearing a lot of high praises; Opera had some layout problems with Facebook while using its chatboxes; Seamonkey's stable but have to transfer my bookmarks from FF by importing them as HTML, and I think not all of my favorite addons can work within SM.
__________________

Last edited by sa547; 2011-05-03 at 22:23.
sa547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-01, 06:10   Link #244
KiNA
Kira_Naruto, the ecchi
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: http://www.exciting-tits.com/
I'm stuck with Iron(Portable) for the longest time now(almost a year) without trouble. Didnt even have to install the little gem.

For extension addict, its compatible to chrome extension too.
__________________
“This be the realest shit I ever wrote.” ~Tupac
So very dead right now.. but still breathing thank you.
Top 4 Manga Waifu
>> Tsukiumi
>> Saeko Busujima
>> Himuka
>> Yui Kotegawa


KiNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-01, 06:30   Link #245
ninryu
It's yuri, bitches
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Israel
Age: 18
Firefox is awesome, but certain things doesn't work on it, so I also use Chrome.
__________________
ninryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-03, 16:29   Link #246
mukansa monkey
Pink bug make Amu angry!
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Somewhere between Omaha and Minsk
Mostly using Safari on my Macs.
Occasionally load Chrome for pages that seem wonky in Safari. Worried about the whole googleware issue though.
Firefox on the Mac: Tried it, hated it. Hogs memory, is slower than dirt to load pages sometimes, crashes for no discernible reason, and the real killer: takes literally minutes to quit. Something just not right there, no matter how many cool addons it has.

All you need to know about IE
__________________
Folding for the honor of the platform
grey_moon: "I guess liking tsundere girls is similar to liking durian, once you get past the horrible smell you can taste the sweet flesh... That sounded a bit rude didn't it "
mukansa monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-05, 14:54   Link #247
zrdb
I'm Under Arrest!!
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huh? Didn't know I had to be somewhere.......
Send a message via Yahoo to zrdb
Firefox all the way-I don't want any stinking google crap on my computor.
__________________
Anime is ok-but you've gotta have time to live, too.
zrdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-05, 18:51   Link #248
felix
sleepyhead
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: event horizon
Currently switched to OperaNext, which is basically just the usual pre-release builds only this time the browser autoupdates to them. It’s essentially like another browser that just doesn’t mess with the installation of the latest stable version of Opera. Aside from the experimental features/fixes the only difference is that the menu icon is blue and Opera “O” icon is much cooler.
__________________
felix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-05, 21:42   Link #249
Vexx
Obey the Darkly Cute ...
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: On the whole, I'd rather be in Kyoto ...
Age: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by sa547 View Post
Upgraded to Firefox 4.01 from 3.x. Lot less sluggish than once used to be, and much to my delight, the PC doesn't shut down when the browser encounters and plays Flash video. Still happens on occasion; though I suppose I'll have to clean up the PC's innards -- probably heat issues with the hardware, especially the graphics card.

Note: been with it since 0.98 after IE5.5 got punctured by malware. Tried the others but I kept coming back to it... and I'd like to do things down and dirty.

Note #2: Chrome's a bit disorienting to use, even if I'm hearing a lot of high praises; Opera had some layout problems with Facebook while using its chatboxes; Seamonkey's stable but have to transfer my bookmarks from FF by importing them as HTML, and I think not all of my favorite addons can work within SM.
My comments - Firefox 4.X is starting to look a bit Chrome'ish :P but can be reconfigured easily back to "what I like". I've been using Chrome on a separate box.... I can see the appeal to "appliance user" type folks but not for tinker-types like me.

Seamonkey has a few configure wonkies (like the bookmark issue and some "why?" moments with the defaults) -- however it is a much smaller footprint in RAM which is good for older machines. yeah, it lags behind the curve in adapting the add-ons and plug-ins... though the basics have been ported so far.

I've looked at the latest IE... but frankly I've had it with operating systems doing things unrelated to core duties - especially if applications are just tangled up in them and reducing stability. It pisses me off when games launch IE rather than my defined default browser (usually Korean f2p MMOS but Sony's Station Launcher is hard-code to launch IE rather than the default browser as well).
Vexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-05, 22:32   Link #250
sa547
Senior Member
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 37
^
True, because IE is highly integrated into Windows, most Korean MMOs tend to use IE as their player login system before jumpstarting the game engine (as they sometimes set the login onto the game's main site, while others build a separate launcher with an IE control embedded in), but it's a rather annoying implementation compared to other MMOs with their own login system within the game engine.
__________________
sa547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-17, 07:50   Link #251
Ekureiru
神さま、ありがとう!
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Luxembourg
Age: 22
Send a message via AIM to Ekureiru Send a message via MSN to Ekureiru Send a message via Skype™ to Ekureiru
I've used Internet Explorer, Opera, Firefox, Safari, and Chrome (and Netscape)

Should I feel accomplished? (Although I prefer Chrome so far.)
__________________

Ekureiru - An entity commonly recognized by many as being on par with gods.
Last.fm | MyAnimeList | Pettanko Fansubs | Now with a degree in Yanderekology.
Ekureiru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 12:29   Link #252
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
I checked IE9 and it has an adblocker like in FF.
Where's option to save video from youtube like in FF?
Where's import and export bookmarks/favorites like in FF?
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 12:44   Link #253
Random32
Also a Lolicon
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
@Tiberium

VideoCacheView works with IE9 I think. Not sure though as I use Firefox.

Importing/Exporting Favorites
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/w...ernet-Explorer
Random32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 13:14   Link #254
AnimeToonzaiFan182
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Lucasville-McDermott,OH
I got Firefox and Google Chrome!
AnimeToonzaiFan182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 13:31   Link #255
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Random32 View Post
@Tiberium

VideoCacheView works with IE9 I think. Not sure though as I use Firefox.
I was talking in terms of IE9 only not 3rd party software.

OK... found how to import and export not from the directions from that site since they were wrong. Still there doesn't seems to have a way to move a bunch of bookmarks in the the favorites bar without being in a folder.

Anyway it was a nice try from M$. I still prefer FF4 although it's sluggish now and eating a lot of mem. I had to use CleanMen to free memory.
__________________

Last edited by Tiberium Wolf; 2011-06-16 at 13:45.
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 15:30   Link #256
monster
Junior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiberium Wolf View Post
Where's option to save video from youtube like in FF?
How do you do that in Firefox without an addon?
monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 16:07   Link #257
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by monster View Post
How do you do that in Firefox without an addon?
Don't you ppl have in FF4 a icon next to the reload button that shows up when you play a vid?
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 17:38   Link #258
Random32
Also a Lolicon
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
No, actually...

Screenshot? If this is built in, it would be nice compared to looking through the cache or using an extension.
Random32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 17:51   Link #259
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 34


I don't think I have any plugin that is enabling that.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-06-16, 18:14   Link #260
Random32
Also a Lolicon
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I don't have that...
Random32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chrome, excited, firefox, internet explorer, opera, reviews

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
We use Silk.