AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Support > Tech Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2014-02-25, 02:47   Link #1
Guernsey
The GAP Man
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to Guernsey Send a message via MSN to Guernsey Send a message via Yahoo to Guernsey
Firefox is slowing down

I am not sure if its the update or just a problem with my computer but some odd reason Firefox keeps slowing down when I am loading page. I have no idea why that is but did anyone else experience this and if so, can anyone help me address the problem?
__________________
Guernsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 04:34   Link #2
Hiroi Sekai
ゴリゴリ!
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Age: 27
Does the problem persist in other browsers?

May as well run a SpeedTest. If you post your results, it'll help determine if it's your ISP or your actual browser.
__________________
Hiroi Sekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 05:11   Link #3
Tiberium Wolf
Senior Member
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portugal
Age: 38
Does it slow down in all sites? If not problem with the sites and u checked with other browser check then FF addons.
__________________
Tiberium Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 05:35   Link #4
Guernsey
The GAP Man
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to Guernsey Send a message via MSN to Guernsey Send a message via Yahoo to Guernsey
It slows down on mos tof the sites I go to and sometimes it even hogs up the memory in my computer. The strange thing is that it never did that before until recently and my other browsers work but Firefox seems to slow down at random.

__________________
Guernsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 07:05   Link #5
Hiroi Sekai
ゴリゴリ!
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Age: 27
Hmm strange, it looks like you've got a moderately good DL/UL speed and everything. Ping could be better, but decent nonetheless. Have you tried clearing out the Firefox cache and browsing data? Maybe clear the cookies if you haven't done that in a while. Make sure you reboot Firefox afterwards.
__________________
Hiroi Sekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 07:15   Link #6
speck123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Firefox slows down the most when loading embedded videos (Youtube and such) and Javascript heavy sites.
speck123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 07:28   Link #7
SeijiSensei
AS Oji-kun
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In your bloodstream
Age: 68
Try creating a new profile for Firefox and see if that helps. If it performs much faster in a clean profile, there is likely some problem with your add-ons and extensions.
SeijiSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 17:50   Link #8
Guernsey
The GAP Man
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to Guernsey Send a message via MSN to Guernsey Send a message via Yahoo to Guernsey
It didn't really work so I decided to unistall it and work with a previous version without updates. I think I need another browser altogether or a browser with similar functions.
__________________
Guernsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 18:14   Link #9
SeijiSensei
AS Oji-kun
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In your bloodstream
Age: 68
How about Chromium? Windows builds are here. For Linux it should be in your distribution's repositories. I don't know where the OS X builds can be found, but I know they are out there somewhere. Or you could try Chrome itself which includes the proprietary features Google adds to the open-source Chromium code base.

How much memory is on this machine? Opening lots of tabs and running add-ons like Flash can slow things down considerably on machines with smallish (by modern standards) amounts of physical memory. One possibility is to create a RAM disk and use that for Firefox's cache rather than the hard drive itself. On Linux, the OS uses unallocated memory to cache disk transactions. I don't think Windows works the same way, but it's been so long since I've looked into Windows' internals that I may well be wrong.
SeijiSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 18:44   Link #10
Guernsey
The GAP Man
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Age: 30
Send a message via AIM to Guernsey Send a message via MSN to Guernsey Send a message via Yahoo to Guernsey
It has over 512 MB of RAM.
__________________
Guernsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 19:07   Link #11
SeijiSensei
AS Oji-kun
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: In your bloodstream
Age: 68
That's miniscule by modern standards, especially if you're running any recent version of Windows. What you're seeing is the consequence of having to swap memory to and from the hard drive as programs compete for space. Bumping your memory to 1-2 GB would provide an enormous boost in performance for a fairly modest investment. I sometimes run Windows 7 in a virtual machine on top of Linux and usually allocate at least 1.5 GB for the Windows VM. Even in the days when I ran XP, it wasn't really happy in anything less than 768 MB.
SeijiSensei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 20:10   Link #12
sa547
Senior Member
*Author
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Philippines
Age: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guernsey View Post
It has over 512 MB of RAM.
That's too small these days; the minimum is 1gb of system memory for all browsers, but it's possible to add more memory to your PC if it has additional memory slots.
__________________
sa547 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2014-02-25, 21:41   Link #13
Hiroi Sekai
ゴリゴリ!
*Graphic Designer
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Age: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by sa547 View Post
That's too small these days; the minimum is 1gb of system memory for all browsers, but it's possible to add more memory to your PC if it has additional memory slots.
Agreed, 512mb is even less than what many portable devices are running nowadays, and they don't have to perform nearly as much as a computer does.

Even if you're limited to a lower number of RAM slots, you could find a compatible stick that holds more. Each of my memory sticks are 8GB large, so unless the motherboard is ancient and incompatible, it shouldn't be tough.

To check if it is the memory or not, try shutting down all other running programs and running Firefox. Then open the Task Manager and watch the memory performance for about a minute. See if it comes close to capping or not.
__________________
Hiroi Sekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
We use Silk.