AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > Anime Related Topics > Fan Creations

Notices

Old 2004-03-18, 20:47   Link #1
Ral
Idea!

Shading with Photoshop

I colored the picture and now I want to shade but I'm kind of confused on how you do it. I looked through a few tutorials on CG'ing and I get confused whenever I get to shading. I'm not exactly sure what tools I should use for it. Can someone explain to me what they do when the shade?
Ral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2004-03-18, 21:10   Link #2
Mirai
Sata Andagi!

Im just a newb at this.. but what are you trying to shade? All I do is pick a value for feather, and then outline the area with a the lasso tool. Then, I use the paintbucket tool and pour the new color inside.. then I delete any color that went outside my inklines. Thats basically it. Just experiment and find what you like best. I find it easier to use a separate layer set on darken and shade that way, instead of multiply.. if you decide to change colors, its easier. Does that explain anything?

Step by step help?

Pick the lasso tool.

Set feather value.
(High values produce more gradual shading, however your selection area has to have an area at least the size of the value you set (in pixels))

Outline area to shade with lasso tool.
(Use the magic wand tool and alt + click and shift + click with lasso tool to adjust your selection) Using multiple layers with the magic wand tool makes this alot easier to do.

Pick a color (for shading, generally use a darker color for a normal and darkness layer and same color for multiply). What I mean by this is, applying the same color in a normal or darkness layer will not change the color of the picture, however in a multiply layer, the same color is overlapped with another area of the same color and it is darkened. Play around for best results.