AnimeSuki Forums

Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Today's Posts Search

Go Back   AnimeSuki Forum > General > General Chat

Notices

Old 2009-08-23, 04:13   Link #1
x512dev

Send a message via AIM to x512dev
College students?

Any other college students here? I know alot of us are around that age.

I'm starting my second year at Santa Fe College, which is a former community college (2-year) here in Gainesville, and I'm working on my AA degree and hoping to transfer to one of the universities here in Florida, preferably UF, although that's an increasingly hard school to get into or even transfer to. Failing that, UNF or UCF.

I'm majoring in Political Science. And to tell you the truth, I'm a little scared. I love politics and government, and international relations in particular. I was even in the Model UN organization in high school and thoroughly enjoyed it. I've just lately been getting a little scared reading some things that it's a useless degree, or that all non-science/engineering degrees are relatively useless unless you want to teach or go to law school. So I'm a little worried about what I'll do after I get my bachelors. I know there's some other jobs out there for political science majors, like campaign workers, or analysts, or foreign service officers, etc., but they're not terribly common and I'm not sure how flexible the degree is to other fields.

I haven't ruled out law school, although I don't really like the idea of being an attorney and never really wanted to be. Teaching I've considered before (and I actually want to do JET after university, but that's something else) and I would do it, although that ideally requires a master's degree to do it seems.